Page 1

New Parliamentary Bingo Group

New Parliamentary Bingo Group

The Bingo Association is delighted to announce the formation of a new All Party Parliamentary Group on Bingo. The Group, which will represent the interests of the bingo industry in Parliament, held its first Annual General Meeting on 26th October 2010 and will now embark on a programme of activity to ensure that parliamentarians are kept abreast of the industry’s developments and issues.

The Group will be chaired by the Conservative MP Brian Binley (Northampton South), who is also Chairman of the All Party Group on Small Business and a member of the Business, Innovation and Skills Select Committee. Brian Binley said:

“I am delighted to have been elected as chair of the APPG on Bingo. I have consistently called for a fairer taxation system for bingo halls in light of the social importance and that issue is a top priority for the group.”

“You cannot underestimate the importance of Bingo halls in the United Kingdom and I have been saddened by the closure of so many clubs over the last five years.”

New Labour MP Luciana Berger, elected as Secretary of the Group, said:

“Bingo was a big issue on the doorstep ahead of this year’s election, which is why I pledged that if I was elected I would help the bingo industry reduce its tax burden. I am proud to have supported the bingo industry in the past but am now grateful that this new All Party Group has been formed to help drive the campaign forwards.”

Other officers of the Group include Conservatives Edward Timpson and Rob Halfon as Vice Chairs and Liberal Democrat John Hemming as Treasurer.

The Group’s secretariat will be provided by the Bingo Association, supported by Luther Pendragon. Paul Talboys, Chief Executive of the Bingo Association, suggested the Group would be meeting several times each year, including trips to bingo clubs and a reception in Parliament, and would also be asking ministers from the Department for Culture, Media and Sport as well as the Treasury to address it.


You need to either login or register to leave a comment.